He is With You – Mandisa

Mandisa Lynn Hundley, professionally known as Mandisa, is a Grammy and Dove Award-nominated American singer and was the ninth-place finalist in the fifth season (2006) of American Idol.

Longtime fans of former “American Idol” contestant Mandisa will notice a number of positive changes on the singer’s new album, “Freedom.” In addition to a more self-assured sound, the singer is sporting a more fit physique.  “I’ve come into my own,” she says. “This album is more personal. I’ve identified my style and I’m not working with as many producers, which I think brought more focus to this album.”

Producers Brown Bannister and Christopher Stevens expertly guided these songs between styles while staying true to Mandisa’s own personality and character. They were able to extract a range of some of the most powerful and poignant performances from this artist to date, including “He is With You,” which re-teamed her with writer Ronnie Freeman, and is one of Mandisa’s personal favorites on the album because she believes it hits every single situation anyone could imagine. As she says, “No matter if you are a man or a woman or black or white or young or old, God is with you and God loves you and God will never leave you and He will never forsake you.”

“This  song means so much to me because it gives me an opportunity to share with others what I’ve been through, and what I’ve learned from so far on this journey. It really is true freedom to know that the Holy Spirit is the great comforter. So no matter what people are going through – whether it’s abuse, the loss of a child, or not having money to pay the bills – there is a God who loves you and is with you no matter what. I know when I go through difficult times, the best defense I have is to worship him, because when you magnify God, your issues look smaller. He can bring us out of whatever we’re going through and even use it for good, and for His glory.”

Leave a Reply

